Massachusetts became the 6th state on February 6, 1788. Before statehood, what we now call Massachusetts covered a larger area, stretching as far as Maine, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. Settlements included Plymouth Colony (1620-1691) and, before 1630, the Massachusetts Bay Company who formed the Massachusetts Bay Colony (1630-1691) who then created the Massachusetts Bay Province (1691-1774). During the period shortly before and after the Revolutionary War (1774-1789), all 13 colonies were governed by the Continental Congress.