Norfolk County, Massachusetts

Norfolk County was established on 20 June 1793 when the Southwestern three-quarters of Suffolk County and the town of Cohasset were set off as the new county. The towns of Dorchester and Roxbury were part of Norfolk County when it was created but, as Boston annexed each town, they became part of Suffolk County again. Hingham and Hull were originally part of the Norfolk County legislation but petitioned to remain in Suffolk County and in June 1793 their removal to Norfolk County was repealed. On 18 June 1803, they were moved into Plymouth County, Massachusetts.