Middlesex County, Massachusetts (Continental Congress)

Middlesex County was created by the Massachusetts Bay Colony on 10 May 1643 as one of its four original counties, along with Suffolk, Essex and the Old Norfolk. It was named for the English county of Middlesex and originally contained the towns of Charlestown, Cambridge, Watertown, Sudbury, Concord, Woburn, Medford, Wayland, and Reading. On 5 April 1731, Worcester County was created from Middlesex County and set off.