Virginia was originally part of the British Virginia Colony, the 10th of the original 13 colonies, from 1607 to 1776. From 1776 to 1788 is was part of the Revolution's Continental Congress. Virginia was admitted to the Union as a state on 25 June 1788. At the outbreak of the Civil War, in 1861, Virginia seceeded from the Union, becoming a Confederate state. Until 1863, Virginia included what is now the state of West Virginia, whose population became sharply divided over the issue of secession from the Union and achieved its own statehood with admittance to the Union in 1863