The Original Proprietors of Bridgewater

(Plymouth County, Massachusetts)

Initially, there were only fifty-four participating inhabitants, each of whom had one share, and were known as the "original proprietors." They were:

William Bradford	John Paybody	John Irish
William Merrick	William Paybody	Philip Delano
John Bradford	Francis Sprague	*Arthur Harris
Abraham Pierce	*William Basset	Mr. John Alden
John Rogers	*John Washburn	*John Fobes
George Partridge	*John Washburn, Jr.	Samuel Nash
John Starr	*John Ames	Abraham Sampson
Mr. William Collier	*Thomas Gannet	George Soule
Christopher Wadsworth	*William Brett	*Experience Mitchell
Edward Hall	Edmund Hunt	Henry Howland
Nicholas Robbins	William Clark	Henry Sampson
*Thomas Hayward	William Ford	John Brown
*Nathaniel Willis	Mr. Const. Southworth	*John Haward
*John Willis	*John Cary	Francis West
Thomas Bonney	Edmund Weston	William Tubbs
Mr Miles Standish	*Samuel Tompkins	James Lendall
Love Brewster	Edmund Chandler	Samuel Eaton
Mr Ralph Partridge	Moses Simmons	*Solomon Leonard

Two more individuals were added later, granted land and became proprietors:

Of the fifty-six total original proprietors, only eighteen, about one-third, actually relocated and became residents of the new plantation. They are identified on the list with their name in bold to indicate they *Moved to Bridgewater.

^{*}Samuel Edson was probably granted his proprietor's share in exchange for building the first mill in the town. He had come to Bridgewater from Salem, in Essex County.

^{*}Reverend James Keith was granted his proprietor's share when he became Bridgewater's first minister in 1664 at the age of 21.